OFLC MOPS

Want to be the best mom possible? You are not alone.

What is Your Legacy? Part 1

Leave a comment

A few weeks ago, during a sermon, my pastor asked, “What is your legacy?” He went on to explain that this was not something material, but something bigger, something that would live on through somebody else. I began to think about what legacy I wanted to pass on to my children, and to be honest, I couldn’t think of anything. Then I started to be conscious of what I said to them on a regular basis, and I narrowed it down to four reoccurring ideas. The following is the first:

Do it afraid.

Do it afraid. What a simple idea, but it is often extremely difficult in practice. How many times do we quit or fail to even try because of fear? It can keep us from our dreams and sever us from people we love. Imagine what we could accomplish if we would just feel the fear and do it anyway! We would apply for our dream job, make that phone call we’d been putting off, go to the party alone, forgive the person who doesn’t deserve it, love more deeply than we could imagine. How would your life be different if you always did it afraid?

In July, my four-year-old daughter went to theater camp. On the day of her performance she said, “I’m afraid to go in front of those people.” I said, “I know. A lot of people are afraid of that too, even Mommy. But what do we have to do sometimes?” She replied, “Do it afraid.” And she did. And she was awesome! I want my children to live life to the fullest, and sometimes do it afraid!

What is your legacy? Please add your ideas in the comments sections below.

Author: oflcmops

MOPS stands for Mothers of Preschoolers, a faith-based community that strives to meet the needs of moms with children from birth through kindergarten. MOPS groups meet regularly to celebrate the joys of motherhood and to encourage each other through the challenges. MOPS also provides opportunities for social outings throughout the year. We meet the first and third Fridays of every month September through May.

Leave a Reply

